BAMM Board to honor new Wall of Fame inductees, 1955 cross-country tream

Benton Athletic Memorial Museum will be inducting three new members into the BAMM Wall of Fame on Saturday night at the organization's annual banquet.
This year's inductees are Becky Fulcher, Emily Arnold Hinton and Jeff Freeman.
Donnie Burks, executive director of the BAMM Museum, said the banquet honoring the three inductees will take place at 6 p.m. at the Benton High School cafeteria.
In addition to recognizing the inductees, the BAMM Board of Directors plans to present an Exemplary Service Award to Gary James, executive director of the Benton Area Chamber of Commerce.
Another highlight of the event will be the recognition of Benton High School's first cross-country team from 1955. Comprising the team were Charles Dove, Jack Fant, Don Hall, James Mahan and Dwight Moore. The late Tom Hardin, for whom the BAMM Museum is named, served as the team's coach. (A later story will focus on the team.)
Also, the board will present the annual Hardin Scholarships to Alex Arnold, Josh Fogleman and Amy Wilson and the annual Weaver Scholarship to Katie Holstead.
Displays depicting accomplishments of the new inductees will be set up in the BAMM Museum, which will be open from 3:30 to 5:30 p.m.
Tickets for the banquet are $15 each and may be obtained from any member of the BAMM Board of Directors or from Burks, who may be reached at 776-4054 or 317-5008.
Profiles of each inductee follow.

Becky Fulcher
Becky Fulcher graduated from Crossett High School in 1974. She earned a Bachelor of Science in Education degree in 1978 from Arkansas State University. She has completed post-graduate work at University of Arkansas at Little Rock, University of Arkansas at Monticello, Southern Arkansas University and Henderson State University.
Before coming to teach in the Benton School District, Fulcher taught in the Hamburg and Crossett school districts. Math is her subject preference.
She has served as chairman of the Benton High School math department since 2006. For the past three years, her geometry students have scored No. 1 on the End of Course Exam, which is given throughout the state.
She also achieved significant success as coach of the Benton high School Pep Steppers, which won two state championships during her leadership.
Fulcher was named Teacher of the Year for the 2011-12 school year, an honor determined by a vote of the district's teachers.

Emily Arnold Hinton
Emily Arnold Hinton graduated from Benton High School as valedictorian of her class in 1991.
During her high school career, she not only excelled in academics, she also excelled in basketball, being named AAAA South All conference in both 1990 and 1991.
She also was named to the Lady Warriors Hall of Fame and was ranked first in Arkansas in NASTAR ski racing.
Hinton obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville and received a Doctor of Medicine degree in 1991.
She earned associate professor certification from University of Texas Southwestern.
She is board-certified and has practiced medicine in Fayetteville since 2006.

Jeff Freeman
Jeff Freeman is a 1989 graduate of Benton High School.
He excelled on the track and field team and held the Benton High School pole vault record of 14 feet, 4 inches, from 1989 until 2006.
He placed second in state in the pole-vaulting event and participated in the Arkansas Meet of Champs and the Tri-State Championship Meet in Bossier City, La.
He also was the recipient of Benton High School's Outstanding Track and Field Event award in 1989.
A 1994 graduate of Henderson State University, he excelled as a member of the Red Wave Dive Team.
Awarded the Arkansas Diver of the Year Award in 1994, he was named All-American diver in both 1- and 3-meter springboard events.
He took fourth place in the nation in the 1-meter springboard and fifth in the nation in 3-meter springboard events in Seattle, Wash., in the NAIA National Championship Competition.

Scholarship Recipients
Amy Elizabeth Wilson and Katie Holstead plan to attend University of Central Arkansas in Conway.
Joshua Fogleman plans to attend Arkansas State University.
Alexis Arnold plans to attend University of Mississippi at Oxford.