School filings end with 3 district school board races uncontested

The Benton School District drew an eleventh-hour candidate for a school board position shortly before the filing deadline arrived at noon Tuesday.
Jonathan Woolbright was the only candidate to file for Position 3, which he currently holds.
Two other school districts have singular candidates for their open positions. They are:
•Cara Burris, the only candidate for Position 3 on the Bauxite School Board. Burris is seeking the position now held by Russell Baxley.
•Brent R. Carr, a current member of the Harmony Grove School Board, who is the only candidate for Position 3.
All are five-year terms.
For the Benton, Bauxite and Harmony Grove districts, no polling sites will be open on Sept. 18, the date of the annual school election. Only early voting will be in place, which will begin on Sept. 11 in the county voting center ("Vote Here" building located adjacent to the courthouse annex on North Main Street).
The Bryant School District races drew the most interest. The candidates for those seats are:
•Zone 1, incumbent Joe Wishard; Zone 2, incumbent Rhonda Sanders; Zone 3, incumbent Sandra Porter; Zone 4, incumbent David L. Moore; and Zone 5, Michael J. Ferguson.
The Bryant board also includes two additional at-large positions. The candidates are:
•Position A, at large, Rose Seawright and Scott A. Hart; Position B, at large, Michael Daly, Scott A. Smith and Daniel Bone.
Following the election, Bryant board members will draw for staggered terms.
Candidates drew for ballot positions in a Saline County Election Commission meeting Tuesday afternoon.
During that meeting, the commissioners voted on changes at two polling sites. Highland Heights Baptist Church will no longer be used as a polling place. People who have voted there in the past will be voting either at Herzfeld Library on Smithers Drive or Centerpoint Church on Interstate 30.
Affected voters will be notified by letter of the polling changes.